Leelanau County Board of Commissioners Budget Work Session – Thursday, August 13, 2020

Tentative Minutes – Meeting Recorded

Proceedings of the meeting are being recorded and are not the official record of the meeting; the formally approved/accepted written copy of the minutes will be the official record of the meeting.

Meeting called to order by Chairman William J. Bunek at 1:00 p.m. Today's meeting is being held at the Government Center, 8527 E. Government Center Drive, Suttons Bay, Michigan.

The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America was led by Chairman Bunek, followed by a moment of silence.

Roll Call:	District #1	Anthony Ansorge	PRESENT
	#2	Debra L. Rushton	ABSENT (present @ 1:58 pm)
	#3	William J. Bunek	PRESENT
	#4	Ty Wessell	PRESENT
	#5	Patricia Soutas-Little	PRESENT
	#6	Carolyn Rentenbach	PRESENT (via zoom)
	#7	Melinda C. Lautner	PRESENT

Public Comment:

Chairman Bunek stated the telephone number to call for any individuals wishing to make public comment. No phone calls received.

Action Items —

Administrator Janik updated the Board regarding the stipend pay options, and went over the options to be discussed for the regular session board meeting.

2021 Budget Memo Review:

- Sheriff's Marine Division for funds for the percentage of grant the County would be responsible for consensus to not include in the 2021 Budget.
- Sheriff's Inmate Housing for camera upgrades consensus to include
- Sheriff's education line item, Capital Outlay <5,000.00 and Sergeants request Commissioners request Sheriff to be present for Commissioners' questions.
- Tower/EMS request Director Matt Ansorge to present to the Board
- Probate and Family Court Staff request for Judge Kromkowski to present with a request figures from the Clerk's office for 17.5 to 28 hours with benefits for a Deputy Probate Register.

- Parks & Recreation request Parks Commission Chairman Noonan to present to the Board.
- Mapping Fund request for Arial maps consensus to include and request information for Administrator Janik to follow up with the Register of Deeds regarding the Automation Fund, and include Planning/Community Development Director Trudy Galla and Equalization Director Laurie Spencer.
- Planning Commission/Solid Waste Council consensus to include the request.
- Senior Services request Senior Services Director April Missias to present to the Board.
- Information Technology for Capital Outlay consensus to keep the request.
- Information Technology for a Polycom System consensus to request from the 2020 Budget and add to the September Executive Board meeting.

Commissioner Rushton joined at 1:58 p.m.

- Maintenance Department for Capital Projects for split coupling consensus to keep in.
- Capital Outlay HVAC, Phase 2 and Phase 3 request Kirstin Policastro, Project Manager with E Three, Inc., to present to the Board.
- MERS (Municipal Employees Retirement System) update the Board with the current actuarial.
- Court Costs are not listed within the budget if there is a deficit for 2020 and 2021 within the tri-county court.

Request from Commissioner Ansorge for Treasurer John A Gallagher III and Administrator Janik to look at all the State funding the County receives for projections for 2021.

Commissioner Ansorge forecasts that there will be cuts and is hoping to have the discussion on where to take the funds from.

Administrator Janik said he would like to wait until the September meeting to clarify what the State is doing to balance the budget before asking for department cuts.

<u>Future Budget Work Sessions Presentations</u>:

Sheriff's Office Probate/Family Court Tower/EMS Parks & Recreation Mapping Fund Senior Services Capital Improvements

Continued Review of Revenues and Expenditures:

None.

Other Issues/Topics:

None.

Future Budget Work Sessions Dates:

2:00 p.m. on August 18, 2020

9:00 a.m. on August 21, 2020

9:00 a.m. on August 28, 2020

Public Comment:

Chairman Bunek stated the telephone number to call for any individuals wishing to make public comment.

No phone calls received.

Commissioner Comment:

None.

Meeting adjourned at 2:49 p.m. by Chairman Bunek.

William J. Bunek, Chairman

Jennifer L. Zywicki, Chief Deputy Clerk

Jennifer L. Zywicki, Chief Deputy Clerk

Leelanau County Board of Commissioners for Michelle L. Crocker, County Clerk