BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Tony Ansorge, District #1
Debra L. Rushton, District #2
William J. Bunek, District #3
Ty Wessell, District #4
Patricia Soutas-Little, District #5
Carolyn Rentenbach, District #6
Melinda C. Lautner, District #7



Chet Janik, County Administrator

Leelanau County Resolution #2020-___ Resolution to Condemn Racism in Leelanau County

WHEREAS, the Leelanau County Board of Commissioners has promoted and continues to promote racial equity, inclusion, and diversity in all aspects of county government, and

WHEREAS, racism is a social system with multiple dimensions and can present itself in many forms, conscious and unconscious, but often manifests in thoughts, attitudes, beliefs, and actions; and

WHEREAS, racism unfairly disadvantages specific individuals and communities, while unfairly giving advantages to other individuals and communities, and weakens society through the waste of human resources; and

WHEREAS, communities of color, working class residents, and those that suffer from disabilities, are more likely to experience poor health outcomes as a consequence of their social determinants of health – health inequities stemming from economic stability, education, physical environment, food and access to health care systems; and

WHEREAS, the Leelanau County Board of Commissioners stands with the residents of Leelanau County in their condemnation of any form of racism,

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Leelanau County Board of Commissioners is committing its full attention to improving the quality of life and health of our residents.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Leelanau County Board of Commissioners advocates for relevant policies that improve the health in minority communities, and supports local, state, and federal initiatives that advance social justice.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Leelanau County Board of Commissioners will assess internal policies and procedures to ensure racial equity is a core element in all organizational practices.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Leelanau County Board of Commissioners requests that the County Clerk forward copies of this resolution to the Governor of the State of Michigan, Senator Curt VanderWall, Representative Jack O'Malley, the Michigan Association of Counties, the other 82 Counties, and local units of government within Leelanau County.