Leelanau County Board of Commissioners Special Session – Tuesday, December 29, 2021

Tentative Minutes

Proceedings of the meeting are being recorded (audio and video) and are not the official record of the meeting; the formally approved/accepted written copy of the minutes will be the official record of the meeting.

Meeting called to order by Chairman William J. Bunek at 9:30 a.m. Followed by a moment of silence. Today's meeting is being held at the Government Center, 8527 E. Government Center Drive, Suttons Bay, Michigan.

Roll Call:	District #1	Rick Robbins	ABSENT – prior notice
	#2	Debra L. Rushton	ABSENT – prior notice
	#3	William J. Bunek	PRESENT
	#4	Ty Wessell	PRESENT
	#5	Patricia Soutas-Little	PRESENT — via Zoom Home/Leland Twp.
	#6	Gwenne Allgaier	PRESENT
	#7	Melinda C. Lautner	PRESENT

Public Comment:

Chairman Bunek called for Public Comment.

The following individual(s) addressed the Commissioners in person: Eric Lind.

The following individuals sent in email correspondence: None.

Purpose of Meeting – Discussion /Potential Action —

Approval of Minutes:

None available at this time.

Approval of Claims and Accounts:

Chief Deputy Jennifer L. Zywicki responded to questions on Claims and Accounts.

#316-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY LAUTNER THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE CLAIMS AND ACCOUNTS IN THE AMOUNT OF \$100,764.62. SECONDED BY WESSELL.

Discussion – none.

AYES – 5 (Lautner, Soutas-Little, Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek)
NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton) MOTION CARRIED.

Approval of End of the Year Budget Amendments and Transfers:

#317-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY LAUTNER THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE FISCAL YEAR 2021 AMENDMENTS #21-013, #21-014, #21-015, #21-016, #21-017, AND #21-018. SECONDED BY WESSELL.

Discussion – Zywicki reviewed and explained the amendments to the Commissioners.

AYES – 5 (Lautner, Soutas-Little, Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek)

NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton) MOTION CARRIED.

#318-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY LAUTNER THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE FISCAL YEAR 2021 FUND TRANSFER #21-008. SECONDED BY ALLGAIER.

Discussion – Zywicki reviewed and explained the transfer.

AYES – 5 (Lautner, Soutas-Little, Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek)

NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton)

MOTION CARRIED.

Medical Examiner:

Health Director Wendy Hirschenberger, Grand Traverse County Health Department was present via Zoom.

Administrator Janik gave a brief overview of the contract with Grand Traverse County over the last four years. He also referenced former County Medical Examiner Dr. Matthew Houghton, and it is hard to find someone local that wishes to hold the position. Janik continued with explanation of the current partnership and renewing the contract with Grand Traverse County. He said that the terms are the same with a slight increase in costs. Comment continued by Janik and Hirschenberger. Janik referred the proposed contract that is in the packet the Commissioners have.

Medical Examiner Agreement Renewal:

#319-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY WESSELL THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE ENTERING INTO AN AGREEMENT WITH GRAND TRAVERSE COUNTY FOR MEDICAL EXAMINER SERVICES, PENDING COUNSEL REVIEW AND APPROVAL; FUNDS TO COME FROM #101-530-648. SECONDED BY ALLGAIER. Discussion.

AYES - 5 (Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek, Lautner, Soutas-Little)

NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton) MOTION CARRIED.

Reappointment of Medical Examiner for Leelanau County:

#320-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY WESSELL THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPOINT DR. JOYCE deJONG, DO, AS MEDICAL EXAMINER FOR LEELANAU COUNTY. SECONDED BY ALLGAIER.

Discussion - none.

AYES – 5 (Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek, Lautner, Soutas-Little)

NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton) MOTION CARRIED.

Labor Contracts:

Administrator Janik offered opening comments on the labor contracts. There are tentative agreements with the five groups that were negotiated with this year. The sixth contract was not up for negotiations. All contracts are for 3 years and include 3.25% increase for each of the three years.

#321-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY LAUTNER THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE THE TENTATIVE THREE-YEAR AGREEMENT REACHED BY THE EMPLOYER, LEELANAU COUNTY, AND THE TEAMSTER'S GENERAL UNIT UNION BARGAINING TEAM. THE BOARD CHAIRMAN IS AUTHORIZED TO SIGN SAID LABOR CONTRACT FOLLOWING FINAL COMPOSITION OF THE 2022-24 CONTRACT AND REVIEW BY CIVIL COUNSEL. SECONDED BY WESSELL.

Discussion – none.

AYES – 5 (Lautner, Soutas-Little, Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek) NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton)

MOTION CARRIED.

#322-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY LAUTNER THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE THE TENTATIVE THREE-YEAR AGREEMENTS REACHED BY THE EMPLOYER, LEELANAU COUNTY, AND THE UNION BARGAINING TEAMS FOR THE FOLLOWING:

- Michigan Fraternal Order of Police Labor Council (MFOPLC) Law Enforcement Command Unit
- Michigan Fraternal Order of Police Labor Council (MFOPLC) Corrections Command Unit
- Michigan Fraternal Order of Police Labor Council (MFOPLC) Corrections Unit
- Michigan Fraternal Order of Police Labor Council (MFOPLC) Dispatchers Unit

THE BOARD CHAIRMAN IS AUTHORIZED TO SIGN SAID LABOR CONTRACTS FOLLOWING FINAL COMPOSITION OF THE 2022-24 CONTRACTS AND REVIEW BY CIVIL COUNSEL. SECONDED BY ALLGAIER & WESSELL.

Discussion – none.

AYES – 5 (Lautner, Soutas-Little, Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek)

NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton) MOTION CARRIED.

Potential Nonunion Wage Adjustments:

#323-12292021 Special Session

MOTION BY LAUTNER THAT THE LEELANAU COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS APPROVE INCREASING ALL NON-UNION EMPLOYEE WAGES BY THREE AND ONE-QUARTER PERCENT (3.25%) FOR FY 2022. SECONDED BY WESSELL.

Discussion - none.

AYES – 5 (Lautner, Soutas-Little, Wessell, Allgaier, Bunek)

NO – 0 ABSENT – 2 (Robbins, Rushton) MOTION CARRIED.

Public Comment:

None.

Commissioner Comments:

None.

Leelanau County Board of Commissioners Special Session – Tuesday, December 29, 2021

<u>Public Comment</u> : <u>The following individuals addressed the Commissioners in person</u> : Paul Christopherson; Keith Ashley.
<u>Commissioner Comments</u> : None.
Adjournment: Chairman Bunek adjourned the meeting at 9:59 a.m.

William J. Bunek, Chairman Leelanau County Board of Commissioners Michelle L. Crocker, Leelanau County Clerk Clerk, Leelanau County Board of Commissioners