County Treasurer

John A. Gallagher IIIStaff:
John Gallagher III, County Treasurer
Sarah Lautner, Chief Deputy Treasurer
Natalie Winter, Deputy Treasurer

Leelanau County Government Center
8527 E Government Center Drive - Suite 104
Suttons Bay MI 49682

For General Information:
Phone: 231-256-9838
Toll Free: 866-256-9711x838
Fax: 231-256-7850

Mailing Address:
Leelanau County Treasurer
8527 E Government Center Dr - Suite 104
Suttons Bay MI 49682 

Treasurer's Office Hours:
Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm (except holidays)

Your County Treasurer
John A. Gallagher III has been elected to a third term as the Leelanau County Treasurer. The County Treasurer is an elected official, a constitutional office, with a four year term. The duties of the County Treasurer are determined by State Statute.

The primary responsibilities of the County Treasurer's office are as follows:

  • Collection of delinquent real property taxes.
  • Administration of dog licensing in Leelanau County.
  • Certification of Deeds and other real estate title transfers prior to recording by the Leelanau County Register of Deeds.
  • Receipt, custody of, and investment all county monies, including funds received from the Townships, Villages, Cities, and from State and Federal agencies.
  • Responsible for keeping permanent records of tax rolls and delinquent tax rolls.
  • Providing public access to historical tax information at a nominal cost.
  • Responsible for the processing of the Forfeiture/Foreclosure properties due to non-payment of property taxes.
This page last updated on 12/29/2023.