Law Enforcement


The Leelanau County Sheriff's Office, Law Enforcement Division is the most visible sign of safety and protection for the residents and visitors of Leelanau County. All Deputies are Certified Law Enforcement Officers through the Michigan Coalition of Law Enforcement Standards. (M.C.O.L.E.S.)

The Leelanau County Sheriff's Office (Law Enforcement Division) is the primary law enforcement agency for the County of Leelanau, providing 24-hour law enforcement services to 11 townships and 3 villages.

Current staffing for the Law Enforcement Division is comprised of: 1 Lieutenant, 4 Sergeants, and 14 Deputies. Of the 14 Deputies, 2 Detectives, 1 assigned to Leelanau Township, 1 to Suttons Bay Village, 1 to Traffic Enforcement and another to the Traverse Narcotics Team.

Deputies in the Law Enforcement Division act as first responders to a variety of requests for police services. Deputies also conduct preliminary investigations, follow-up investigations, and self initiated enforcement activities

This page last updated on 1/9/2024.